Gustave_Moreau_-_Le_Paon_se_plaignant_à_Junon

Being Human

Gustave_Moreau_-_Le_Paon_se_plaignant_à_Junon

Hera is hotter than Aphrodite, in my humble opinion…

I’ve been thinking a lot about basic life lessons. Basic values.

I’ve been thinking about having the courage to ask for what you need. That one is hard. I’ve become pretty ballsy lately thanks to this one. It can be embarrassing to ask for what you need. I’m in the process of asking for something I need this winter, and I feel equal parts badass and humiliated for asking for it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about cultural differences, and how far I’ve moved away from monotheist culture. You don’t really think about it when you’re surrounded by people who share the same basic religious culture, and then when someone becomes important to you who is culturally Abrahamic, the deep divide becomes apparent. Funny how urgent, important, and concise the parts of your faith that really matter become when you need to be seen clearly by someone you love.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the Precepts of Solon. So many of these maxims are subjective. What is good character? What is good? What is bad?

I’ve also been thinking about the differences between Hera and Aphrodite in terms of love. About the different types of commitment, and the ways to avoid drama. About the hotness of familiarity and domesticity, and the exhaustion that accompanies  angst and recklessness.

I’ve been thinking about how really good things make you flexible and open. How you are more comfortable making concessions for things that are really worthwhile.

Mostly I’ve been thinking of being human. It’s a complicated business, this mortality. Nothing quite seems to go as you planned. Surprises happen all the time.

I’ve had some surprising things coming my way lately. Unexpected things. Awesome things. Decent, honest, wholesome things. Things which stretch and confound the human experience. Really wonderful things. I wouldn’t trade the last few weeks for anything in the world.

But mostly, I have been thinking about how you have to grasp the good things while you can. They don’t come along that often, and if you don’t learn to recognize and appreciate them you might not have them manifest in your life anymore. The good things aren’t always what you expect, but sometimes they are just what you need.

